Inbound and Outbound Contact Center Solutions

Communication between contact center and customer is generally via various digital channels nowadays. In the final analysis, what is decisive for the definition of a contact center is who establishes contact with whom.

If contact comes from “outside“ we refer to an ”inbound contact center“. If, on the other hand, contact is initiated from within the contact center, then we refer to an “outbound contact center“.

In-depth customer contacts mainly relate to:

  •   - one-to-one consultancy services (e.g. telephone tariffs),
  •   - product purchases (e.g. concert tickets),
  •   - queries regarding the last bill,
  •   - technical help in connection with equipment,
  •   - or numerous other matters that may give rise to customers wishing to contact a staff member
        of the company.

An increasing number of companies with inbound contact centers are also interested in proactive customer services in order to also use their contact centers for cross-selling and upselling purposes.

With this in mind 2-steps-ahead consulting specializes in the application of modern IVR systems in order to pre-classify customer queries before contact with the agency is made via DTMF or speech input. This pre-classification ensures that the customer is connected with the agent who is best qualified to help him. This results in more questions being processed with one single call, and customer satisfaction increasing noticeably. Not to mention the fact that consequently you increase agent availability and, at the same time, reduce the total volume of calls in your contact center.

In the case of outbound contact centers it is the company employees themselves who call the customers, for example to:

  •   - inform the customer that an ordered product has arrived,
  •   - remind them that an invoice is still outstanding,
  •   - perform a customer survey about the last auto repair visit,
  •   - confirmation of a transaction, i.e. confirmation of an online banking transaction
  •   - or merely because the customer has asked to be called back.

Outbound contact centers are mainly geared to telephone contacts, on the one hand because that is the traditional form of establishing contact and, on the other hand, because it still remains the normal procedure.

Most companies nowadays call their customers, only a minority send personal emails. Usually only promotional mails are sent by email as mass advertising, and many customers ban unexpected mails straight to the recycle bin as spam, while an unexpected phone call is more likely to arouse interest.

2-steps-ahead consulting offers various solutions in order to conduct outbound calls automatically with speech dialog systems. This means that in most cases these phone calls take place without agency contact, but it can be established anytime if the customer wishes. Besides the telephone channel also other media such as mobile web or chat are possible. In these cases the customer will be informed by a text message about this possibility, The customer then determines itself when and on which channel he/she wants to communicate.

2-steps-ahead consulting helps you set up your call center for future needs and to open up new communication paths. In close cooperation with you we draw up a concept of the vital steps to be taken towards setting up a modern contact center in place of a traditional call center.

A typical approach in this process is to migrate your existing system to a modern multi-channel system, such as, for example Voxeo CXP, so that additional channels such as web or instant messaging can be offered in the next stage.

German English

Inbound und Outbound Contact Center Lösungen

Die Kommunikation zwischen Contact Center und Kunden läuft heute über verschiede Kanäle. Entscheidend für die Definition des Contact Centers ist letztlich wer mit wem in Kontakt tritt.

Kommt ein Kontakt „von außen“, so sprechen wir von einem „Inbound Contact Center“. Wird der Kontakt dagegen aus dem Contact Center heraus eingeleitet, dann ist dies ein „Outbound Contact Center“.

Eingehende Kundenkontakte drehen sich meist um:

  •   - ein persönliche Beratung (z.B. Telefontarife),
  •   - den Kauf von Produkten (z. B. Konzertkarten),
  •   - Fragen zur letzten Abrechnung,
  •   - Support im Zusammenhang mit technischem Gerät,
  •   - oder auch um zahlreiche andere Dinge wegen derer die Kunden einen
        Mitarbeiter der Firma kontaktieren möchten oder müssen.


Immer mehr Unternehmen mit Inbound Contact Centern interessieren sich so auch für den proaktiven Kundendienst, um so ihr Contact Center auch zum Zwecke des Cross-Selling und Up-Selling einzusetzen.

2-steps-ahead hat sich hierbei darauf spezialisiert mittels moderner IVR Systeme die Kundenanliegen vor dem Agentenkontakt per DTMF- oder Spracheingabe vorzuklassifizieren. Mit dieser Anrufervorklassifizierung wird sichergestellt, dass der Kunde zu dem Agenten mit der für ihn geeignetsten Qualifikation weitergeleitet wird. Das Resultat ist, dass mehr Anfragen mit einem einzigen Anruf gelöst werden und die Kundenzufriedenheit dadurch spürbar steigt. Nicht zuletzt erhöhen Sie dadurch die Agentenverfügbarkeit und vermindern gleichzeitig das Gesamtanrufvolumen in Ihrem Contact Center. Diese Vorqualifizierung verringert zudem die Wartezeiten der Anrufer in einer Warteschleife – Kundenfrustration wird verringert.

Bei Outbound Contact Centern rufen Mitarbeiter der Firma selbst bei den Kunden an, beispielsweise um:

  •   - den Kunden mitzuteilen, dass ein bestelltes Produkt eingetroffen ist,
  •   - sie an die Begleichung einer Rechnung zu erinnern,
  •   - Kundenbefragung zum Beispiel zur Servicequalität des letzten Werkstattbesuchs,
  •   -Transaktionen telefonisch zu bestätigen, z.B. im Online Banking
  •   - oder auch nur weil der Kunde um einen Rückruf gebeten hat.


Outbound Contact Center sind überwiegend auf telefonische Kontakte ausgerichtet. Zum einen aus alter Tradition und zum anderen, weil diese Art der Kontaktaufnahme bislang immer noch üblich ist.

Die meisten Unternehmen rufen heute ihre Kunden an, nur wenige schicken persönliche E-Mails. Meist werden nur Massenwerbesendungen per Mail verschickt. Außerdem verbannen viele Kunden unerwartete E-Mails gleich als Spam in den Papierkorb, während ein unerwarteter Anruf doch eher die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht.

2-steps-ahead bietet verschiedene Lösungen, um Outbound Anrufe automatisiert mit Sprachdialog Systemen durchzuführen. In den meisten Fällen erfolgen diese Anrufe ohne Agentenkontakt dieser kann aber auf Wunsch des Kunden jederzeit hergestellt werden. Neben dem klassischen Telefonkanal sind auch andere Medien wie Mobile Web oder Chat möglich. In diesen Fällen werden die Kunden mittels SMS auf diese Möglichkeit hingewiesen, d.h. der Kunde bestimmt dann selbst wann und über welchen Kanal er kommunizieren möchte.

2-steps-ahead hilft Ihnen Ihr Call Center für künftige Anforderungen zu rüsten und neue Kommunikationswege zu eröffnen. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen erarbeiten wir ein Konzept um die notwendigen Schritte zu gehen die erforderlich sind, um vom herkömmlichen Call Center zu einem modernen Contact Center zu gelangen.

Ein typischer Ansatz ist hierbei ihr bestehendes System in ein modernes Multi-ChanneI System wie z.B. Voxeo CXP zu migrieren, um dann im nächsten Schritt zusätzliche Kanäle wie Web oder Instant Messaging anzubieten.

Deutsch Englisch